Braised Chick’n and Olives

 

I have been experimenting with my slow cooker.  I love a nice big home cooked dinner but sometimes we are just too busy.  I have found that not having the time, or actually, not feeling like slaving away in the kitchen after a long day of work, can lead to temptation.  For us anyway, it can lead to eating out and eating more vegan junk food than I would like.  So I have decided to try and cook as much as I can in my slow cooker, especially when I know I am going to have a long day.  I made this with a big salad and a toasted baby boule from whole foods and we had a delicious dinner that took very little effort.

Ingredients

4 chicken flavored seitan breasts (I used Gardein)

1 stalk of celery

10 0z cherry tomatoes

1 cup pitted and sliced olives

1 cup red wine

1/2 cup water

1 tablespoon tomato paste

1 teaspoon garlic powder

2 sprigs of rosemary

salt and pepper to taste

 

Directions

Oil the crock of your slow cooker.  Chop the tomatoes and celery.  Place the seitan breasts in the slow cooker and top with the rest of the ingredients. I have rosemary in my garden so I snipped off two sprigs the morning I put this together.  You can buy fresh rosemary in the grocery store or even use dried.  

Cook on low for 8 hours.  At 8 hours everything was well cooked but I wanted some of the liquid to evaporate.  So I tipped the lid of my slow cooker up with a spoon and let it cook for another hour.  Remove the rosemary sprigs before serving.  Then you simply plate a delicious dinner.  It is just that simple.

Leave a Reply

