Vegan Pepper Popper Sandwich

Love this sandwich.  I love pepper poppers.  They are one of my very favorite foods.  Since I try to stay away from fried foods, I have to figure out other ways to enjoy my favorite foods.  While this isn’t fried, it still isn’t exactly considered healthy.  But it sure is yummy. You can use whatever vegan bread you want.  I love Dave’s Killer Bread.  They have a wide variety of breads that are all vegan.  Ezekial bread also makes a great vegan bread.  I used Dave’s Killer Whole Wheat bread for this recipe.

I used raw jalapenos in this recipe.  I love the taste of raw peppers.  My husband loved this sandwich but said he would probably lightly grill the peppers first.  This is up to you and your taste preferences.

Makes 4 sandwiches

8 slices of vegan bread

1/2 tub of vegan cream cheese (I used tofutti)

1 cup daiya cheddar cheese

3  jalapeno peppers

2 tablespoons of vegan butter (I used earth balance)

 

Directions

Cut the jalapenos into quarters length wise and seed.  The pepper slices should lay flat.  To assemble the sandwich, lightly butter one slice of bread.  Place butter side down on a warm griddle.  Smear a tablespoon or so of cream cheese on the side of bread facing up.  Place three of the jalapeno slices on top of the cream cheese and top with approximately 1/8th of the daiya cheese.  Top with another slice of bread and butter the side of the bread facing up.  Once you have your sandwich assembled, continue to let it cook until golden brown, approximately 2 minutes, then flip.  Cook for another 2 to 3 minutes.  The inside of the sandwich should be melty by this point. Make the other sandwiches the same way.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

