Virtual Vegan Potluck – Vegan Lasagna

Welcome to the Potluck.  Hope you are enjoying all the great recipes.  I am bringing Vegan Lasagna.  Enjoy!

Vegan Lasagna

Let me share a little back story into my husband’s life.  His grandmother, everyone called her Mama Rue, was an amazing cook.  She oozed southern charm.  When you walked thru her door she made sure you were greeted with food.  Before I was vegan I ate almost everything she cooked and I will admit her food was amazing, but it was also full of saturated fats and cholesterol.  My husband used to say that is what made her food so delicious.  He has been learning, however, that good food does not needed to be loaded with all things bad for us.  So when I put something in front of him and he says “wow, this is second only to Mama Rue’s food” then I know my vegan recipe is truly delicious because that is his form of high praise.  This lasagna recipe was bestowed with “this is second only to Mama Rue’s lasagna”. So I know it is a winner.  It is really pretty simple.  I have already posted my homemade marinara and ricotta recipes.  I will repost them here again to keep you from clicking around trying to get all the ingredients.  I am sure you can use canned marinara if you wish, but I am not sure it will taste the same.  Let’s face it, there is nothing better than good ole home cooking.

Start out making the marinara

Ingredients

1 yellow onion

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon garlic powder

2 tablespoons dried italian seasoning

1/2 cup red wine

five cups peeled and seeded fresh ripe tomatoes

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Chop the onion and cook in a saute pan with 2 tablespoons of olive oil until they start to caramelize, approximately 8 minutes.  Then add in garlic powder and italian seasonings.  Stir to combine.  Add in red wine and bring just to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 5 minutes.  Make sure to scrape all the caramelized goodness off the bottom of the pan while simmering.

Dice and seed tomatoes and then add to the mixture.  Again bring just to a boil and then reduce heat and simmer for at least two hours.  You will notice the mixture will begin to thicken the longer you cook it.  If you want a very thick marinara then you can cook longer than two hours.  At two hours I removed mine from the stove and transfered to my blender and blended until it was well mixed.  If you like a chunky marinara then you do not need to blend.

When your marinara is almost done, make the ricotta and set aside.  I put mine in the refrigerator while I cooked the noodles.

Ingredients

1 (16 ounce) tub firm tofu

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 1/2 tablespoons lime juice

1 teaspoon garlic powder

3 tablespoons nutritional yeast

1/2 teaspoon oregano

1/2 teaspoon basil

1/2-1 teaspoon salt, to taste

8 ounces vegan cream cheese, I used tofutti

Directions

Drain and press tofu.  Then add all ingredients, except cream cheese into a blender.  Blend until combined and smooth.  If you want your ricotta more crumbly use only 1 tablespoon of olive oil instead of two.

Heat cream cheese in microwave for approximately 30 seconds. Then combine with tofu mixture.  Use immediately or refrigerate for up to 48 hours.

The rest of the ingredients

12 whole wheat lasagna noodles

Daiya cheese (I used 3/4 cup of their cheddar and 3/4 cup of the mozzerella)

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Once you have your marinara completely cooked and set aside (I did blend my marinara) and your ricotta made and set aside, cook the lasagna noodles in a pot of water for approximately 8 minutes. Drain the noodles.  In a 9×13 pan, spread about 1/4 cup of marinara on the bottom of the pan, add in three noodles, more sause and approximately nine dolips of the ricotta mixture.  You will be making 4 layers so adjust the amount you use to have even amounts of the marinara and ricotta on each layer.  Contine until you have four layers, top with marinara and the daiya cheese.  Cook for 30 minutes.  Let sit for at least 10 minutes then enjoy.

To visit the previous potluck blog click here
To visit the next potluck blog click here
To return the the beginning of the potluck click here

12 thoughts on “Virtual Vegan Potluck – Vegan Lasagna

  1. Sarah says:

    Hi Sara,

    I just wanted to make sure I had the right post to link to for VVP. Is this the one?! Right now I’m linking to your home page.

    Thanks,
    Sarah

  2. Great recipe! Thanks…Happy VVP Day

  3. You’re doing very well indeed to be compared favorably to Mama Rue! Thanks for being a part of the Potluck party!

  4. Food Stories says:

    Just making my way through the VVP & wanted to say hey 🙂

  5. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    yum, this looks so good. I love lasagna. It’s so delicious and filling.

  6. Lasagna, my favorite! I don’t think I’ve ever tried using cream cheese, but I will now. I have a few tubs in the fridge – thanks for the inspiration!

  7. Brittany says:

    I am in love with lasagna, I need to make some vegan versions. YUM!

  8. Somer says:

    Sara! I love vegan lasagna and this one looks just perfect! Thanks so much for being part of the potluck! xx

  9. I love the addition of the red wine to the marinara. I’ve never seen a marinara recipe that called for that so I can only imagine that it adds a great depth of flavor. Congrats on the success of your hubby liking it! It’s hard to live up to Gramma’s food. I know I could never make French Toast (vegan or not) as well as my dear Gram did.

  10. Gorgeous lasagna – looks so tasty!
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

