Vegan Face Mask

Our vegan diet does wonders for our skin.  I used to break out constantly before I became a vegan and I had dull, life less skin.  Since changing my dietary habits I have heard over and over again how my skin has my old high school glow.  But sometimes, due to lack of sleep, eating overly processed vegan foods or stress can cause our skin to look dull and need a little pick me up.

I love this mask because the ingredients are readily available in most every person’s kitchen and it is very simple to make. This mask is great for puffy, dull skin.  Thanks to the caffeine it will decrease puffiness and brighten your skin. If you have very dry skin you can replace the almond milk with oil. 

Ingredients

4 tablespoon finely ground coffee beans

4 tablespoons cocoa powder

8 tablespoons almond milk, regular unsweetened

2 tablespoons lemon juice

Mix all ingredients in a bowl until a paste forms.  Apply to clean skin and let dry, approximately 30 minutes. You can heat this mask in your microwave for a few seconds.  I find the cold refreshing on my skin.  After 30 minutes wet a washcloth and press it to your face to loosen the mask, then rinse with warm water.  If you have sensitive skin, be extra careful because the coffee grounds can scratch your face.  You can store the left over paste in your fridge for up to a week.  I find that this makes enough for three masks.

Leave a Reply

