Vegan Zucchini Latkes

image

My experience with Jewish food is pretty much limited to latkes. I love all latkes and have made vegan potato latkes in the past.
I decided to try zucchini latkes tonight and I am so glad I did. They are so flavorful. I had to share with my husband but I could have eaten the whole batch myself.

Ingredients

3 cups shredded zucchini, I left a few larger chunks as well for some extra texture
2 finely chopped green onions
3/4 cup all purpose flower
3/4 tablespoon sea salt
Dash of ground pepper
1 flax egg
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
2 to 4 tablespoons oil for frying

Latke sause ingredients

1/4 cup veganaise
1 tablespoon lime juice
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
2 tablespoons ground basil

Shred zucchini, line a colander with cheese cloth and place zucchini in colander. Sprinkle with salt to help the zucchini release it’s water.

In a small dish make flax egg, one tablespoon ground flax seed and three tablespoons water. Mix well and set aside to thicken.

In another bowl combine flour, baking soda and pepper. Add in chopped onions and drained zucchini. Zucchini should still have enough moisture to make a crumb like mixture. Add in flax egg and mix until a wet dough ball forms.

Heat oil in a frying pan on medium heat. Pull off enough dough to create a golf ball sized dough ball. Place in oil and smash down to create a patty form.

Cook on each side for approximately 5 minutes, then place on a plate lined with paper towels to drain off excess oil.

Continue until all latkes are cooked. I cooked four at a time. Makes 8 latkes.

Combine all sause ingredients in a small bowl. Top latkes with sause and enjoy.

Leave a comment