100% Recycled Flower Pillow

image

I have some clothes that are either too big or I don’t like anymore. Some I donate to Goodwill, others I save for crafts. Today I decided to make a pillow out of an old pair of pants and a shirt.
First, I cut off the legs of the pants and used them to make pedals for my flower pillow. I used the drinking side of the cup to make 30 large circles. And the bottom of the cup to make 20 small circles.

image

image

Then I cut all the circles in half to make the pedals. This pillow is for my bedroom and since my bedroom in primarily black and white, I decided on black pedals.

image

I found the shirt I wanted. I used an old white shirt, measured out the size I wanted and cut it out.

image

Then I started arranging the pedals in a circle. I used my sewing machine to sew on each pedal before starting on the next row.

image

Then I slowly worked my way to the center, overlapping each pedal. Once I made several rows of large pedals, I moved on to the smaller pedals.

image

image

When I reached the very center, I stitched on one whole circle for the center of the flower. Once I stitched the back of the pillow to the front, I stuffed the pillow. I had a pillow I had purchased years ago that was flat and uncomfortable. When I replaced it with my new pillow I saved it for crafts. I took the stuffing out, fluffed it up and used it to stuff my new flower pillow. Once I finished stuffing the pillow I closed the pillow and put a black border stitch around the entire pillow.

image

And there you go, a new, beautiful pillow created entirely from items I was going to throw out. A very satisfying feeling to create something from items that seemed to be useless.
Reduced, reused and recycled into something beautiful and full of new use. 

image

Leave a Reply

